



Distr. GENERAL

FCCC/CP/2000/4 25 November 2000

**ENGLISH ONLY** 

CONFERENCE OF THE PARTIES Sixth session The Hague, 13-25 November 2000 Agenda item 2 (i)

## **ORGANIZATIONAL MATTERS**

#### ADOPTION OF THE REPORT ON CREDENTIALS

## **Report of the Bureau**

#### I. INTRODUCTION

- 1. In accordance with rule 19 of the draft rules of procedure, being applied, "the credentials of representatives as well as the names of alternate representatives and advisers shall be submitted to the secretariat if possible not later than twenty-four hours after the opening of the session. Any later change in the composition of the delegation shall also be submitted to the secretariat. The credentials shall be issued either by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister of Foreign Affairs or, in the case of a regional economic integration organization, by the competent authority of that organization."
- 2. Furthermore, rule 20 of the draft rules of procedure, being applied, provides that "the Bureau of any session shall examine the credentials and submit its report to the Conference of the Parties."
- 3. The present report is submitted to the Conference of the Parties in the light of the foregoing.

# II. CREDENTIALS OF PARTIES TO THE SIXTH SESSION OF THE CONFERENCE OF THE PARTIES

- 4. On 25 November 2000, the Bureau met to examine the credentials submitted by Parties to the Convention.
- 5. The Bureau had before it a memorandum dated 24 November 2000 from the Executive Secretary on the status of credentials of representatives participating in the Conference. The information in this memorandum is reflected below.
- 6. As noted in the memorandum of the Executive Secretary, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs, as provided for in rule 19 of the draft rules of procedure being applied, had been received by the secretariat for the representatives of the following 142 Parties participating in the Conference: Albania, Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, European Community, Fiji, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
- 7. Information concerning the appointment of representatives participating in the Conference had been communicated by means of facsimile in the form of letters or notes verbales from ministries, embassies, permanent missions to the United Nations or other Government offices or authorities, or through local United Nations offices, by the following 35 Parties participating in the Conference: Angola, Azerbaijan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chad, Congo (Republic of), Djibouti, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Georgia, Grenada, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Micronesia (Federated States of), Namibia, Niger, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Rwanda, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Senegal, Sudan, Tajikistan, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates and Viet Nam.

8. Consequently, the President proposed that the Bureau should accept the credentials of all the representatives mentioned in the memorandum of the Executive Secretary, on the understanding that formal credentials for the representatives referred to in paragraph 7 above would be communicated to the secretariat as soon as possible. The Bureau accepted the proposal and agreed to submit the present report to the Conference. The Bureau further agreed to recommend to the Conference that it take note of this report.

. . . . .